Another Ramekin Cobbler — Apple!

It’s been a while- I know. I fail at updates. But life isn’t slowing down as much as I had hoped, which leaves little time for the kitchen. And, when I do have time for the kitchen, I keep not having a camera around for pictures. And I really wanted this blog to come equipped with pictures for the entire process- unfortunately, it seems that isn’t going to happen all the time. And instead of just not updating, I think I’ll start adding in some entries about other recipes I like and things I have tried. This week will likely have a lot of “recipes revisited” because I’ve been reusing some old ones to come up with some improvements and more deliciousness!

This does not come equipped with pictures. I did a quick cobbler the other night in my ramekins. And I just wanted to share with you the process of doing the apple cobbler in the same way I did the Strawberry Cobblers. I used the baked apple recipe from my Mini Apple Pies and just kind of combined the two into dishes of awesome.

The first time that I made cobblers, I used my larger ramekins and they were too large to eat at once- mostly because they were so rich. So this time I filled smaller ramekins and got five different cobblers that are just about the perfect size for one person to eat.

Ingredients for the Cooked Apples

  • 3 granny smith apples peeled, cored, and chopped
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar (more or less as needed)
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon (more or less as needed)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (more or less as needed)

Baked Apple Directions

  1. Melt the stick of butter for the baked apples in a pot. After butter is melted, mix in the brown sugar, cinnamon, and sugar. Give it a taste- see if you need to add more of any of the ingredients.
  2. Place the chopped apples into the pot. Stir it well. Cover it, and let it simmer. Then stir again. Let the apples cook until they have a good taste. You can leave them crisp or soft- depending on your preferences. I like crisp apples, so I didn’t cook mine as long.
  3. Spoon the apples into greased ramekins- as much or as little as you want. Set these aside.

Breading Ingredients

  • 6 slices of bread
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 stick butter

Breading Directions

  1. Melt butter in the same pot you used to make the baked apples. Leave the left over butter/cinnamon mixture in the pot- it makes a nice taste for the breading..
  2. Remove from heat and stir in sugar and beaten egg.
  3. Tear the bread into small pieces and stir it into the butter/sugar/egg mixture.
  4. Cover the baked apples with the bread mixture.
  5. Bake the ramekins at 400° until the bread is golden brown.
About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Dessert, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hope you get a breather soon! Those strawberry cobblers are worth repeating. (So are the apple ones of course.)

Leave a Reply

