No Bake Cookies

No-Bake Cookies have been one of my favorite treats forever. They have a lot of different names. My friend’s family even calls them kitty litter cookies because of how they look. Chocolate + Peanut Butter + Oatmeal is an amazing mixture, though, and I just felt like it so I made them! This recipe only made twelve. You can double it to get two dozen, but that would have been way too many for just me and my dad. I like a lot of peanutbutter in mine- mostly because I think it keeps them from getting dry and crumbly as they have a tendency to do if you don’t make them just right. These turned out to be really good, moist, and amazing!!!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 tablespoon cocoa
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 3/4 cup of peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal

Directions

  1. Lay out a long sheet of wax paper. You can also spray non stick on some aluminum foil if you don’t have any wax paper. (I was out for some reason.)
  2. In a medium pot, bring the sugar/butter/milk/cocoa to a boil. Do so slowly so that the sugar melts properly.
  3. After it comes to a boil, let it go for one minute. Then stir in the peanut butter and vanilla.
  4. When the peanut butter and the vanilla is well combined with the chocolate, stir in the oatmeal.
  5. With a spoon, drop the mixture onto the paper. This should make 12 cookies (depending on the size, of course).
  6. Let the cookies cool and harden. If they don’t harden the way you would like, you can always refrigerate to help them set.

sugar/milk/butter/cocoa in the pot

1 1/2 cups oatmeal

sugar/milk/butter/cocoa melted together

boiling chocolate mixture

peanut butter

peanut butter stirred into the boiling mixture

stirred in oatmeal

prepared foil

dropping cookies

delicious cookie

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Dessert, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re on a PB kick. I like this recipe, especially at this time of year. It’s thankfully cool, but normally around now we’re trying hard to not turn on the AC.

    • Peanut butter is one of my comfort foods, I think. And my grandmother gave me a giant jar of JIF that I don’t like to use for sandwiches haha.

  2. curiositykilledthequiche

    These cookies are one of my favorites! I cannot make them for anything though!They crumble everytime, yours look so yummy! Thanks for sharing :0)

Leave a Reply

