Butterscotch Carrot Cake!

This recipe I found on La Casita Inspirada. I had everything I needed to make it except for carrots- so I sent my dad out to buy some when I made it sometime the week before last. Apparently he missed the shredded part- because he brought home whole carrots. The most agitating part was grating the carrots. It took ages- and they are deceptively large. It took all six carrots in the bag to get 2 cups of shredded carrots. But all in all, the work was worth it. I made two in ramekins (because I’m still obsessed with those) and one in a small loaf-type pan. The icing recipe I doubled, because I like a lot of icing. But other than that- this recipe was absolutely perfect as is! So I just followed it directly. My icing was a little runny- but that’s just one of those things I can’t really make. So I poured it on and then stuck it in the fridge to get it to solidify a little.

Cake Ingredients

  • 10 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup butterscotch chips
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk

Cake Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together.
  3. Add eggs one at a time.
  4. Mix the butter/sugar/eggs until well combined.
  5. Mix together the carrots, spices, flour, and baking powder.
  6. Add the carrots/spices/flour/baking powder to the butter/eggs/sugar, slowly adding milk as you go.
  7. When all other ingredients are mixed, fold in the butterscotch chips.
  8. Spread the batter in an even layer in greased baking dish.
  9. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of the cake.
  10. Allow to cool.

Icing Ingredients

  1. 4 oz cream cheese
  2. 1/2 cup milk
  3. 1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Icing Directions

  1. Melt the butterscotch chips slowly in the microwave, stirring regularly to prevent any scorching.
  2. Cream the melted butterscotch and cream cheese together until smooth. Add milk and mix until it nice and smooth.
  3. Spread (or pour) onto the carrot cake

Carrots

Grating carrots

2 cups of carrots

Grating Aftermath

Butter + Brown Sugar

Eggs + Butter + Brown Sugar

Carrots + Spices + Flour + Baking Powder

Cake Batter

Folding in butterscotch chips

Batter in a ramekin

Freshly Baked

Freshly Baked

Out of the Ramekin

Icing

Ramekin Cake = Delicious

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Dessert, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow! Such dedication! Grating all of those carrots by hand had to have taken some patience!
    Im glad you liked the cake, even if the icing didn’t quite work.
    πŸ™‚

    • I can never make icing work! I don’t know why! I went through a cupcake phase before I started my blog where I was always making cupcakes and I’ve never once had functional icing. 😦

      But it was an amazing recipe and super delicious!

  2. Yum! I love the icing runny or not. Love the old school Corningware.

  3. Wonderful! I have to make these, I love carrot cake. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

  4. Hmm! Apart from the butterscotch, quite an old style recipe. Must try it!

  1. Pingback: Butterscotch Carrot Cake Cupcakes « Unruly Muse

Leave a Reply

