Chocolate Chip Waffles

I love waffles and pancakes. When I was in college, after clubbing and drinking, we’d always go to Waffle House and I would always get a chocolate chip waffles. At Waffle House they do things differently and just add chocolate chips on top. But I wanted to incorporate mine into the batter. Nobody in the house would eat them except for me because I used bittersweet chocolate and they prefer milk or semi-sweet chips in things. But since I knew I’d end up adding syrup and probably peanut butter- I didn’t want to overdose on the sweetness.

This mix also works great for pancakes. And- as a simple heads up- it’s going to look like there are not enough chocolate chips. Don’t add more- or you’ll have too many chocolate chips. I learned this the hard way.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat either your waffle iron or your pan.
  2. Whisk together the dry ingredients.
  3. Beat the egg. Stir the egg and the milk/vanilla into the batter.
  4. Stir in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips (whatever flavor you like best).
  5. Let the batter sit for about a minute so it can get thick and bubbly.
  6. Pour the batter into the waffle iron- or onto a hot, non stick pan by using a 1/3 cup measure.
  7. In the pan, wait for lots of bubbles to form and then flip. For the waffle iron, usually it has to cook 5-7 minutes- some have lights letting you know it is done.
  8. Serve this with syrup or peanut butter on top- or both. I love peanut butter on my waffles.

dry ingredients

adding the wet ingredients

finished batter

poured into the waffle iron

cooked waffle

waffle & syrup

waffle + peanut butter + syrup

chowing down

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Breakfast, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. These look great! I think I need a waffle iron!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  2. That’s it I’m buying a waffle maker!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary 4/18-4/23 « The Baker's Laboratory

Leave a Reply

