Toffee Bars

This recipe comes from one of my current favorite books- Complete Baking from Martha Day. I found it at Ollie’s for like 6 dollars and has tons of recipes in it. Everything I have tried out of it so far has been incredibly delicious. I did this one straight from the book, instead of my usual tweaking. The final product was- more or less- mediocre. I am a huge fan of toffee and of brown sugar. Basically my toffee bars ended up and fluffy- like a large pan of gigantic cookie. I should have split it into two pans, or only used half. But- what can you do? So I guess this is a semi-success.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb light brown sugar
  • 1 lb butter/margarine at room temperature
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 lb flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4oz milk chocolate broken into pieces
  • Heath Toffee Bits

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°
  2. Beat the sugar & butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg yolks and vanilla. Stir in the flour and salt.
  3. Spread the dough in a greased baking dish/pan.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven and immediately place chocolate pieces on top of the hot biscuit base. Let stand until chocolate softens, and then spread it evenly with a spatula.
  6. Sprinkle with heath bits.
  7. While still warm, cut into bars.

butter and sugar

egg yolk

batter with eggs

in the pan

finished

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on April 6, 2011, in Dessert, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

