Yeast Rolls!

Yeast rolls are my favorite type of bread- and generally dad buys those you freeze and thaw and bake. I decided to give it a try, to make some from scratch. This is the third time I’ve tried. The first, they baked too long. The second time I left out an ingredient and ended up turning into a garlic parmesan bread (which was amazingly tasty and will be blogged tomorrow or the day after). This was my third go, and they turned out perfect. Light, fluffy, great. They were all devoured. I wish there were more left.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of butter melted
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of room temperature milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 – 2 1/2 cups of flour (the less you use the lighter the rolls will be)
  • 1/4 oz of dry yeast (I use the kind that doesn’t have to be dissolved in water.)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine milk, melted butter, salt, sugar, and egg. Beat until well combined.
  2. In another, smaller bowl mix the yeast with the flour.
  3. Add flour to the wet mixture 1/4-1/2 cup at a time. Eventually it will get to thick to beat. At this point, turn out the dough onto a floured surface (or pastry mat).
  4. Knead in the rest of the flour. Knead for 5-10 minutes- just make sure the dough is very smooth.
  5. Gather dough into a ball and place it in a greased bowl- cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Let the dough rise for about an hour.
  6. Dump risen dough back onto your floured surface and punch it down. Roll it out to about 1/2 inch this. Use a jar lid to cut the dough into circles.
  7. Place dough on a pan and cover- let the dough rise again for another 1-2 hours. (Sometimes it doesn’t rise very much- mine didn’t, so don’t worry if a huge difference doesn’t seem to happen.)
  8. Bake the yeast rolls at 350° for 10-15 minutes. Make sure they do not over bake. Pull them out as soon as they start to brown. It took mine about 12 minutes.
  9. Remove from the pan and brush with butter.

The wet mixture with about a 1/2 cup of flour mixed in

Dough after mixing and kneading, placed in bowl to rise

Dough after being punched down and ready to roll out

Cut dough

Brush with butter!

Ready to eat 🙂

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Dinner, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. These are so popular where I live. Rolls as big as my head, nevermind my fist. I should definitely make these. Thanks for posting your recipe.

  2. I would die for a roll as big as my head. Bread is my favorite food, I think.

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary 3/21 – 3/26 « The Baker's Laboratory

Leave a Reply

