Failed Yeast Rolls = Garlic Parmesan Bread

So when I made my yeast rolls the other day, the first batch of dough I made I totally forgot to add any sugar and didn’t cut all the steps in half like I should have. Which meant my dough wasn’t very yeast roll appropriate by the time i was finished. So I decided to do something different with it. It morphed from a yeast roll failure into a scrumptious  loaf of garlic parmesan bread. When it was baking it made the house smell great- but then again, I’m a huge fan of garlic and the way that it smells. The picture makes the texture look like cornbread, but it doesn’t feel like cornbread at all when you eat it. But this is the sort of thing that happens when you muck up a recipe- you just turn it into something else if you can. I’ve done that before with my Apple Crisp Cupcake Failure. That being said, this recipe will obviously look similar to my yeast roll recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 cup of milk at room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/4 cups of flour
  • garlic powder
  • grated parmesan cheese (I just used what you find in a plastic jar.)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine milk, melted butter, salt, and egg. Beat until well combined.
  2. In another, smaller bowl mix the yeast with the flour
  3. Add flour to the wet mixture 1/4-1/2 cup at a time. Eventually it will get to thick to beat. At this point, turn out the dough onto a floured surface (or pastry mat).
  4. Knead in the last of the flour.
  5. After kneading in the flour, kneed in a generous amount of garlic powder and parmesan cheese. I would guess that I used about a tablespoon of garlic, and about 1 1/2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese. You could easily use more or less. It would probably be good to add some Italian seasoning if you feel ambitious.
  6. Place the dough into a greased bread crock (or loaf pan).
  7. Cover with plastic wrap and let it rise for about an hour or two.
  8. Cook at 350° for 30 minutes- or until the top is golden brown.
  9. Remove from oven, allow to cool, remove from crock or pan and slice.

wet mixture

dough before kneading in garlic/parmesan

the dough in the bread crock

bread out of the crock!

sliced and ready to eat!

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Dinner, Failure, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

