Cinnamon Raisin Muffins

I think the saddest part is that when talking about these muffins, all I could think of was Florian Bellanger from Cupcake Wars going “It has the conseestancy uf a moofeen.” Horrible phonetic variation- but I tried. Anywho- my muffins turned out pretty delicious. I had never made homemade muffins before. Cupcakes, sure. Cakes, sure. But muffins are different. Thicker. These were a great breakfast, though. I didn’t get quite enough cinnamon in these- I used 1 teaspoon (the recipe only called for a half a teaspoon) so I would add a little more.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4th teaspoon salt
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cooking oil
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon (I suggest using about 2 tsp. I felt this didn’t have enough cinnamon.)
  • 1 cup raisins
  • Cinnamon Sugar

Directions

  1. Grease 12 muffin cups
  2. Preheat oven to 400°
  3. Stir together the dry ingredients (except for raisins) in a medium mixing bowl.
  4. Create a well in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour the milk, egg, and cooking oil.
  5. Stir until all of the flour is mixed in- do not over mix.
  6. Fold in the raisins.
  7. Fill the muffin cups about 1/2-2/3 full with batter. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top before baking.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes.

Flour with well in the center

Well filled with wet ingredients

Batter with raisins folded in

Filled muffin cups

Complete muffins!

Delicious!

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Breakfast, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

