French Toast Pancakes

I like French Toast as much as the other person- but I happen to not be a fan of French Toast that is incredibly eggy. Because I really kind of hate eggs. So I thought… “Maybe I can make pancakes that taste like French toast!” I decided to give it a try, and it actually turned out rather well. Unfortunately, I’m guestimating how much cinnamon/vanilla I added, because I didn’t really measure it when I put it in. You know how things go in the laboratory.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a microwave safe bowl. (Remember- microwave on defrost!)
  2. Mix in the brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and sugar with the melted butter. Give it a taste, add more flavor as desired.
  3. Mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda in a bowl. Then add 1 egg (beaten) and the cup of milk. Mix together. Pour in the brown sugar mixture. Stir. Again, you can sample the taste to see if you want to add anymore cinnamon/brown sugar/etc.
  4. Pour the batter into a heated pan, about 1/4th of a cup each time. Allow it to bake until it rises and bubbles. Flip, allow the other side to brown. Remove from pan.
  5. Should make about 6-8 pancakes. Smother in butter and syrup and enjoy!

Brown Sugar Mixture

Pancake Batter

Pancake in the pan!

Finished Pancake

Pancakes Ready to Eat

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 19, 2011, in Breakfast, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hate trying to decide between French toast and pancakes. Now I don’t have to!

Leave a Reply

