Chicken Parmesan

I’m a huge fan of Italian food in general. I decided that I definitely wanted some Parmesan Chicken- back at Valentine’s Day. I didn’t have a date, so I cooked myself dinner and watched B-Rate Horror Flicks all day. It was awesome. And my dinner was freakishly delicious. And just writing about it now makes me want more! I kind of played this one by ear. I’m not a huge fan of a lot recipes for this because I’m picky and I hate pounding chicken.

It turned out really good, if I do say so myself. So I thought I’d share with you my own special way that I make Parmesan Chicken. And hopefully you will try it and you will like it!

Ingredients

  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • Heavy Cream
  • 1 cup Flour
  • Pepper/Salt
  • Italian Seasoning (I use a McCormick grinder for it.)
  • 2 jars of spaghetti sauce (I use tomato and herb)
  • 1/2 box of angel hair pasta or any other noodles you like
  • 1 bag of Parmesan cheese
  • 1 bag of Mozzarella or Italian Blend cheese (I like the latter!)

Directions

  1. Line a pan with enough spaghetti sauce to cover the bottom. You might need 2 pans depending on how much you make. (I needed two pans with just 3 chicken breasts.)
  2. Most recipes call for you to pound the chicken out to about 1/2 inch thickness. Instead of pounding mine, I cut my breasts in half to make them thinner. I don’t like pounding chicken. It’s loud and messy.
  3. Pour some heavy cream into a bowl- enough to cover the chicken when you place it in.
  4. Mix flour, pepper, salt, and Italian seasoning in pie pan (or bowl). Everyone likes different amounts of pepper and seasonings in their breading- so use your best discretion. I happen to love tons of pepper and lots of Italian seasoning.
  5. Pour some oil into a deep pan, enough to cover the chicken half way when you place it into the pan. About a quarter of an inch deep, maybe a little more. Let the pan and the oil get hot before you put any chicken into it.
  6. Put a chicken breast into the heavy cream and let it soak for about a minute. I find that heavy cream helps the breading stay on better than egg/milk.
  7. Place cream soaked chicken into the flour pan. Usually I scoop some on top with a spoon, flip it over, scoop some more.
  8. Put the floured chicken into the pan with oil. Let it rest for a few minutes, until the sides turn brown. Flip it over, let the bottom brown. I usually sprinkle some of the Italian seasoning on the top of the chicken after browning it.
  9. When both sides are browned, place it in the sauce lined pan.
  10. Repeat steps 6-9 until you’ve finished cooking all of your chicken breasts.
  11. Sprinkle on some mozzarella cheese, then some Parmesan, then some more mozzarella. Put as much or as little cheese as you like. I love to have tons of cheese.
  12. After all of the breasts are fried, in the pan, and cheese covered bake them until the tops of the cheese is nice and brown.
  13. While you’re baking the chicken, put some water on to boil. Put in your pasta and cook it. I’m going to assume everyone knows how to boil pasta. It’s not exactly rocket science. Follow the directions on the box if you’re confused.
  14. You should also heat up your extra sauce at this point.
  15. When everything is done, take some pasta and put it on a place. Pour some sauce on the pasta. Put a piece of the chicken on the pasta, cut int it, and DEVOUR. It’s going to be delicious, I swear!!

Pan lined with sauce

Chicken in the cream bath!

Flour mixture

Flour in the pan

Fried chicken in the pan

More chicken in the pan!

Chicken in the oven!

Baked Chicken

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 19, 2011, in Dinner, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment