Apple Crisp Cupcake Failure

My goal for today was to make Apple Crisp Cupcakes, but it didn’t turn out quite as I had expected! I ended up being able to salvage the project- just barely. But it was a good experience. I’ve never really made homemade cupcakes before, but after watching Cupcake Wars regularly, I’ve been wanting to try. These didn’t turn out as good cupcakes- but the crisp I made was pretty awesome.

Apple Crisp Cupcake Recipe

Batter Ingredients:
1 1/2 C. all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 C. granulated sugar
1/2 C. unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/3 C. milk
1 apple, peeled, cored and diced

Streusel Ingredients:
3/4 C. packed light brown sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 Tbs. unsalted butter, at room temperature
Pinch salt

Icing Ingredients:
1 C. whipping cream
1/2 C. packed light brown sugar
1/4 C. light corn syrup
1 Tbs. unsalted butter
1/4 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin pan with paper liners.
** I would suggest using foil liners. I used paper liners, and they ended up sticking to the pan and the cupcakes stuck to the liners.

To make batter, in a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla until smooth. Alternately whisk in flour mixture and milk, making three additions of flour mixture and two of milk, beating until smooth. Stir in apple.
*When you melt the butter, make sure that you don’t cook the butter. You can do this in the microwave, using the defrost setting instead of straight heat. Melted butter that’s been cooked will separate and is a weird oily texture and color. Properly melted butter will look like:

*Chopped Apples:

*Batter with Apples:

*My batter was too thin. About another cup of flour could have fixed that.

To make streusel, in a bowl, whisk together brown sugar and cinnamon. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until mixture holds together in small, moist clumps.
*My streusel definitely didn’t turn out right. Too much butter in it for me- it was stuck together but not clumping/crumbling.

Even so, I continued on with the recipe as it said to do so, hoping for the best.

(Then I topped it with more batter.)

Scoop about half of the batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle streusel over batter. Scoop remaining batter over streusel. Bake in a preheated oven for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and tops of cupcakes spring back when lightly touched. Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack.

They were done- but the papers were sticking, they were sticking to the papers, when I pulled them out half of them crumbled- but I thought “maybe the icing can fix it!” … Wrong!

To make frosting, in a heavy saucepan, combine cream, brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and salt. Heat over medium-high heat, stirring, for 2 minutes or until sugar is dissolved and butter is melted. Reduce heat to medium. Cook, stirring often, for 10-15 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir until smooth and pour into a bowl. Let cool in bowl, stirring occasionally. Caramel will thicken further as it sits and cools. Stir cooled caramel well and spread or spoon over cooled cupcakes
*I know where I went wrong. I didn’t have whipping cream, so I tried to substitute milk & butter (cream is just milk with more fat, butter adds the missing fat). Either way- my “icing” was pure liquid. So I was devastated- I really thought there was no saving it. I ended up adding in 2 cups of confectioners sugar and beating it on high until it thickened. Still was more like a drizzle and not icing.

After that, I let it cool, then drizzled the thickened “icing” all over the top of it.

Then I sprinkled cinnamon on top.

All in all, even with the screw ups, I ended up with a delicious cupcake-crumble? I guess all that matters to me is that it was really delicious and tastes good- even if it didn’t turn out how I wanted. Next time, I’ll not substitute and make sure my batter is thick enough.

About Bethea

I am a 23 year old with an unruly muse! I'm constantly crafting in some form- baking, knitting, writing, etc.

Posted on March 8, 2011, in Dessert, Failure, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

